healthy living

Since I moved back to Canada, I can’t deny any longer that I’ve packed on quite a few pounds (try 10lbs). I can SEE my face and body getting chubbier 😦 So, in all honesty, for vanity reasons more than anything, I started to pay more attention to my diet and be more mindful of what I eat – because as the saying goes… “a moment on your lips, forever on your hips”!

I’m getting tired of my constantly fluctuating weight. I feel like I need two sets of clothes for my fat and skinny phases, but alas I don’t have the money for that haha… so I’m determined to make a change. The more I read about eating clean and living healthy, the more determined I got (doesn’t this sound familiar for my last post haha)

To start, I needed something to gauge my food I take and catch all the unhealthy foods I’m mindlessly consuming. I’ve found Noom to be the best app so far. Yes, most of the time you’re estimating your portion with the easy units so you’re not getting measurements down to the 0.25 calories, but who wants to sit there for hours inputting precise numbers that are probably just guesstimates anyway? Another great thing is that different foods are colour-coded depending on their calorie density (e.g. fruits, veggies, complex grains being green, simple grains and white meat yellow, red meats and junk food red).

This app keeps you motivated by setting mini goals each day and each day’s food intake is rated with a 5-star scoring system. Being a (closet) competitive gamer (I try to say I put those days behind, but the trait resurfaces once in a while), I always aim to get 4+ stars so I’ve found myself shying away from foods in the red category nowadays. That and I also can’t bear to live with the guilt of inputting many red foods. There are times when I want to skip recording those foods but in the end I’m just cheating myself, right?

There’s a lot more to the app but I won’t spoil all the fun for you if you want to try it out! 🙂

Anyhow, back to the main reason for this post… I was browsing through the recipes on Blogilates and found a super simple recipe for HEALTHY pancakes (say whatttt?) – all you need is a banana and two eggs (and some baking soda if you want added fluff). But then I started thinking I’d probably want something more substantial if I’m eating this for a meal (- I say meal because I’m never up early enough for brekkie so I aways end up making breakfast food for lunch.. Or dinner). Since the consistency of the batter is pretty wet, I figured I could add some oats to bulk it up (and add fiber).. Honestly I was scared it wouldn’t work, but it did!! So here I present to you, my Flourless Banana Oatmeal Pancakes!

image

Flourless Banana Oatmeal Pancakes

Ingredients:
1 ripe banana, mashed
2 large eggs
1/4 cup rolled oats (instant or steel cut)
Cinnamon and sweetener of choice to taste

Optional:
1/2 tsp baking soda for the fluff
Handful of craisons

Instructions:
1. Mash banana until liquidy and mix in all other ingredients until well combined
3. Heat up a nonstick pan and pour half the batter in. Fry until one side is golden brown before flipping
4. Repeat with remaining batter

Tips and alternatives:
– if the banana is ripe enough, you can skip the sweetener (more healthy!)
– adjust the amount of oats added to get the right consistency (thick pancake batter-like)
– not a fan of the lumpy texture? you can blend the batter until it becomes smooth
– replace two whole eggs for 3 egg whites
– top the pancakes off with seasonal fruit to mix things up! Be creative!
– make bite-sized pancakes and freeze them for later snacking (when the munchies get to you)
– I guess you’d need to oil your pans if you don’t have a nonstick one.. Hehe

Oh and I know it’s hard to make choices to eat clean when you’re being tempted by the greater evil (perfect steaks! creamy pastas! desserts!). But with a will, you can definitely do it! I mean, if I can forego my favourite ginger molasses cookie, anyone can!

(and If it’s of any encouragement, ever since I starting Noom-ing at the start of this month, being horrified by my terrible earing habits and being more disciplined in terms of food and exercise, I’ve already shed 5-6lbs :))

4 thoughts on “healthy living

Leave a Reply

