MIA + oatmeal

Phew, I haven’t posted in more than a week, huh? Quite a lot of changes in life recently and I haven’t been able to sit down quietly to collect my thoughts until now! I’m glad I haven’t been completely unproductive though…

I finally applied for the Cosmetic Technique and Management course I wanted to do (with Digital Media Arts as a backup), but sadly the course for September has been wait-listed. I guess I’ll just have to wait and hope someone misses their payment deadline so I get a chance to slip in!

Also made the decision to moved out of the place I was staying at to a family friend’s place temporarily. Packing up was hard – I don’t remember coming back to Canada with so much stuff! Fortunately there’s always the trusty bundling method that my friend showed me – managed to pack 4 pairs of pants, 7 hoodies, 8 tees, and plenty of underwear and socks into my little carry-on suitcase. Fit all other miscellaneous things (snacks, 2 boxes of makeup etc) into my large suitcase. I’m glad the frequent travelling between HK and Canada during my university years has trained me to be a good packer … But I still get overwhelmed every single time and repack once or twice to maximise space usage. Heh.

Since I’m back uptown, I booked my first driving lesson for tomorrow too. I’m so nervous … I haven’t driven since I got my G2 more than a year ago. But I guess I gotta do what I gotta do to get my full license … 😦

Anyhow, even with all that happening, I made sure I still had my bowl of oatmeal each day. Never had I realised how much more appealing regular oats were than instant ones (it’s rare to find anything that’s not instant oats in HK)! I love that you can cook it down into a thick gooey consistency but still have the grains to chew on. Not to mention the many benefits it comes with (low in calories, high in fiber and protein, heart-healthy, you know the gist).

If you’re thinking … “But it’s so bland!” … then I can tell you it’s the exact opposite! Because it’s so bland, you can experiment with so many different flavours – and the possibilities are only limited by your imagination (wow, that was such a cliche line, haha). If you’re stuck for ideas, below are a few things I’ve found in the kitchen that work, but I usually keep it simple by keeping it to just frozen berries. Sometimes I’ll add a handful of vector cereal (my fave!) if I’m craving for some crunch 🙂

Oatmeal Base
1/2 cup oats
1/2 to 1 cup liquid (milk, almond milk, soy milk, water) – adjust to get your preferred consistency
1 tbsp honey

Mix-ins
cinnamon + mashed banana
chocolate + instant coffee
matcha powder
frozen berries
maple syrup

Toppings
fresh fruit (seasonal berries, sliced bananas, sliced peaches etc)
cereal of choice
walnuts/pecans

I’ve been wanting to incorporate chia seeds and flax seeds into my oatmeal for extra protein since my meat consumption is pretty low… I guess that will start when I finally settle down somewhere and have time to go buy it! Funny thing … I learned about chia seeds recently and it answered my question to what those weird gel/frog egg looking things were in chinese fruity desserts. Good to know it’s actually healthy!

No pictures this time around … My phone’s ongoing mission to commit suicide seems to have ended last week when it somehow got stuck in a boot-loop after it froze … Yay! =______= I’ve been forever in a hating relationship with Samsung since the ICS update and now I’m moving back to SONY …

Actually… Here are some random pictures of food I made from my instagram – scroll over them to see what they are!


Leave a Reply

