latenight baking: chewy cookies

I absolutely ADORE chewy cookies, so much that I’ve been trying to perfect the recipe for a looong time. I’ve tried many many cookie recipes and have always failed to yield anything with the desired texture or appearance – somehow my cookies were cursed to NEVER spread. I have no idea why… I can’t be that bad at baking, right?… I thought cookies were definitely my nemeses. But, one day I finally found this awesome recipe after one of my friends nagged and nagged for white-chip macadamia nut cookies. Even though the first time I baked them was a disaster, we got AMAZING cookies the second time around. In fact, they were almost perfect. Almost. But of course, being me, I felt pretty triumphant already, so I left it at that…

Until the past two days. I’ve been reliving my university exam-week years – that is, breaking out the baking mojo when I’m really supposed to be studying (or sleeping). Why? Because I make random goals to bring baked goodies for people I haven’t seen for a while, and I happened to be meeting up with some ex-colleagues for lunch. It doesn’t help that Hong Kong is so grossly humid that the only way to maximise the freshness level is to bake as close to the meetup as possible… Hence the latenight baking. Anyhow, I proceeded with the recipe above but my cookies were mediocre.

Conveniently, tonight I had another excuse to try again – I’m meeting another friend of mine tomorrow and I had promised to bake him something before I left. With a few more tweaks to the recipe above, I think I’m one step closer to the perfect cookie base!

The Almost Perfect Chewy Cookie Base!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

 

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350*F (180*C). Line cookie sheets with aluminium foil.
  2. Beat the butter until pale and fluffy, about 2 minutes
  3. Add the brown sugar and granulated (white) sugar and beat until combined.
  4. Add the egg and beat each time until well-incorporated. Mix in the vanilla.
  5. In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, and salt.
  6. Carefully add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix just until the ingredients are incorporated.
    [Stir in the your choice of add-ins]
  7. Scoop a generous tablespoonful of the dough and roll into a ball. Tear the ball in half, snd smoosh the dough back together with the torn side now at the top of the cookie. Gently shape so that the dough ball is taller than it is wide and place on cookie sheet about three inches apart.
  8. Bake for about 10 minutes, until edges of cookie begin to turn golden brown. Remove from oven and let sit for 5 – 10 minutes on cookie sheet so the cookie can set. Carefully move to wire rack to cool completely.

Today I split my batter and added cocoa powder to half of it. Then I stirred in some white chocolate chunks. The other batter I stirred in dark chocolate chunks and roasted hazelnuts (I roasted them! :))… Can’t believe this is already my last baking session before my birthday (tomorrow)!

Anyway, hope you enjoy this recipe! I’m still working on making it less sweet and trying out different batter consistencies to see what will make the cookies spread nicely. Hurray for not having a job so I have time to do all this eh??

dark chocolate hazelnut cookies! white choc choc cookie!Do excuse the horrid photos… The xperia is still giving me headaches with the photo processing so I borrowed my mom’s iPhone to take pics… Bear with the quality until i arrive at a solution!

Leave a Reply

