latenight baking: crinkle ginger molasses cookies

I must have the biggest soft spot for Starbucks ginger molasses cookies. Every time I see them, I just have to get one, sometimes along with a tall unsweetened soy green tea latte (always a mouthful to order, haha)! It’s also a cheapo way to get stars too. But alas, I discovered that they are not available in Hong Kong. Meaning when the cravings hit, I won’t be able to do anything to satisfy them D:

Or so I thought.

I tried searching for a similar recipe and found a few that were quite promising. Although, knowing my luck with cookie batters, I was a little doubtful that I’d get the results I want. At first I was really disappointed because the batter turned out really wet and there was no wa I could roll them into balls… The heat in Hong Kong must’ve melted the batter more than it should… But my cravings were strong enough to urge me on – I salvaged the batter by adding more flour. The results… Well, ee for yourself:

image

TADA!!!!!!!! I couldn’t believe how perfect the cookie came out!! I can’t say they’re similar to the cookies at Starbucks, but this had it’s own charm. The spices were prominent but not overbearing, and the cookies had a nice crunch on the outside, whilst still being delectably chewy on the inside. I seriously could’ve finished the whole batch (yes, the whole dozen of cookies) if I hadn’t quickly packed them up to give away to my parent’s colleagues and people I met up with the next day. All this baking is seriously going to sabotage my “healthy diet” plans, haha.

By the way, hopefully this will be the last post with sub-par quality photos… Sony just released a software update (ver 10.1.1.A.1.253) and they seem to have improved the camera performance 🙂 Shall be testing the camera more to see how it turns out. But I guess all the latenight baking means I’ll never have optimal lighting for nice pictures anyway… Ha.

Anyhow!! Here’s the recipe below if you want to try making these. Guaranteed to be super easy and super quick! Even if you choose to hand-whisk everything like I did … I seem to have taken a liking for hand-whisking everything after the meringue incident. There’s a strange sense of satisfaction (with a dash of power) in being able to beat the crap out of something for the greater good…

Crinkle Ginger Molasses Cookies
Recipe adapted from Fifteen Spatulas

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 4 tbsp butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup sugar (+ extra for rolling)
  • 1 egg white
  • 4 tbsp unsulphured molasses

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350*F (175*C). Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In a big bowl, whisk to combine the flour, baking soda, salt, ginger, cloves, nutmeg and cinnamon.
  3. In another bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until combined. Add the egg white and whip until smooth, then add the molasses. Mix in your dry ingredients until the flour just disappears.
  4. Portion out the cookie dough into 12 balls, and roll them in granulated sugar.
  5. Bake the cookies for 15-20 minutes. Or until cookies “spring back” when touched.
  6. Allow the cookies to set before transferring to cooling rack.

Tips:

  • I added the nutmeg and cinnamon to add to the depth of flavour but you can omit them if you don’t have them on hand already.
  • Using blackstrap molasses will give a more potent flavour
  • For softer cookies, leave them in the oven for less time. If you do this, make sure you let the cookes REALLY set, because they will be very fragile!! (Speaking from personal experience :P)
  • Portion out the cookie dough into 6 balls to make those Starbucks sized cookies (and bake them for a bit longer) XD

Let me know how they turn out for you! I love this recipe so much I’m going to make more of these cookies soon hehehe…

Leave a Reply

